Book: The Fault in Our Star (4.5/5)

“Unfortunately, The world is not a wish-granting factory.”

Hazel could have died three years ago. and she was ready for it.

but,in that very moment,
it was like God suddenly said, “oh, wait.. give Me a second, hm…”

*flipping and scanning through a book with big title “My plan for Hazel” and realize there are two pages stick together.

then said, “well, okay, My mistake, sorry Hazel, seems like I missed one story of your life. Now go back and meet one hot boy named Augustus. And don’t forget to go crazy about him, okay?”

and boom, she didn’t die. Although she had to breath through a portable oxygen machine and steroid made her face swollen.

three years later, as a side effect of her survival, she had to attend a support group for teens with cancer. it was her mom who insisted her to go out and make some real social interaction, rather than staying at home all day watching American Next Top Models.

so one day,that day could be just another boring meeting of support group, yet it didn’t.

that day she met that boy who was missing in her story.

Augustus Walker was a witty, self-praiser, and an ex-osteosarcoma-patient yet so hot seventeen year old boy.
he lost one of his leg due to cancer, but yes, he’s still hot one-leg-pony.

in their first meeting, these two teen already fell for each other.

Hazel should have realized that everything goes out too smoothly for them.
and blame the stars (who seem like having fun in twisting their fate upside down), one things changed their all story..

……………..

okay, everyone please wait until i stop crying..
it just stabbed me right in the heart.

if you read my review, maybe you’ll think it’s just another dramatic and romantic YA. But, it is not. (or maybe it is, but i’m just a sensitive nerd)
there are more sides that i haven’t included just because i don’t want to spoil it out.
you have to know that it’s really hard to make a review of a good book without spoil it and without sounds so fanatic.. you keep thinking, which one you want to share with people who haven’t read it yet, without spoiling it out but still can make them interested.

okay, let’s review this..

actually, i don’t see this novel as a cancer story itself, no,  it’s not the center of the story.
i think what Green about to say is everyone has their own hamartia. (which, in Hazel and Augustus’ story was cancer). And how we should just accept that as reality.

i love how Augustus, Hazel and Issac saw cancer as just some lemon that life gives them and never ask why them? (or maybe they were asking it, but now they already got over it) and how they can find a humor side inside it.

“You have a choice in this world, I believe, about how to tell sad stories, and we made the funny choice.”

i read a review from the guardian and will quote it, because there’s no other words describe this story better..

“What I loved about The Fault In Our Stars is that the journey that Hazel went on wasn’t acceptance of death -she’d completed that before the novel began- but on the acceptance of life. How life isn’t always fair, but life just is.” -guardian.co.uk

i love how poetic, funny yet so cynical their conversations are. actually i read the Indonesian version, which the translation is quite good. But, i do encourage you to read the real  version because this book is so poetical, and i don’t think the Indonesian version can translate all at the exact meaning. My english is not that good, so i just read the Indo version. (By the way i love the Indonesian title, “Salahkan Bintang-Bintang” )

okay, now move to my fanatical side:

WARNING!! this is contain a lot of spoiler (because i just can’t help it, as usual..)

i love this couple.. they really should have more time together.

“There are infinite numbers between 0 and 1. There’s .1 and .12 and .112 and an infinite collection of others. Of course, there is a bigger infinite set of numbers between 0 and 2, or between 0 and a million. Some infinities are bigger than other infinities. A writer we used to like taught us that. There are days, many of them, when I resent the size of my unbounded set. I want more numbers than I’m likely to get, and God, I want more numbers for Augustus Waters than he got. But, Gus, my love, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.”

i quite like Hazel. And i love how she can turn words into something that sounds great.

and for Augustus, i’ve already fell for him since he said,

“It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you..”

“You realize that trying to keep your distance from me will not lesson my affections for you,” he said.

okay, that’s it, Augustus, i love you. i just love you.

“I’m on a roller coaster that only goes up, my friend.”

I do like Isaac too, He’s so funny..

“How are the eyes?’
‘Oh, excellent,’ he said. ‘I mean, they’re not in my head is the only problem.’

“Come over here so I can examine your face with my hands and see deeper into your soul than a sighted person ever could.”

and goshh, i can’t stop crying since Issac read his eulogy, my heart did break that time.

one more person in this story that i do like is Hazel’s father. I know sometimes he looked so sensitive and fearful of losing his daughter, but he always know what to say to Hazel.

“It’s total bullshit,” he said. “The whole thing… He was such a bright kid. It’s bullshit. I hate it. But it was sure a privilege to love him, huh?

You know what, this is by far the only book that has so many quotes that i like.

okay, i think it’s enough.. so, turn off your computer/ laptop/tab/ so whatever.. go to the bookstore and buy this book, okay?

2 thoughts on “Book: The Fault in Our Star (4.5/5)

  1. Eka berkata:

    I read both english and indonesian version (to deepen my understanding to the story). and yes, i agree with you. the indonesian translation is okay, quite good but cannot be compare with the english one. The feeling is just different maybe because John Green is so excellent with his word which is a bit plain when got translate.
    I enjoy your review. I love Hazel’s father as well, doesn’t have big portion in the story but he just lovable

Tinggalkan Balasan

