Book: The Night Circus (4.5/5)

 

“Life takes us to unexpected places sometimes. The future is never set in stone, remember that.”

Once upon a time, there was a game played between two men. No one knows exactly when it was started, for no one outlives them. Several time it has been played. But it’s neither of them who compete each other.They choosed their player to play.

The first one was a little girl. Six years old was she. One of the men own daughter.

Several years later, another player, a boy in an orphanage, was chosen. He was asked to join or stay in the orphanage. But stay was never an option.

Years they were prepared for a battle without knowing the rule. A battle without knowing when it was exactly began and when it will end. or whether it will end.

But when they met inside the circus’ tent for forbidden lover,
they fell in love.

My review will never be as good as the book.

I’m a hard-to-please reader.
But this book has three things that I’m not immune to.

  1. Magic
  2. Old London setting 
  3. Secret

I really like it! I know I’ve always had some tendency to drown in a dark fantasy theme. Just said, Neil Gaiman’s book, The thirteen Tale and The Book of Lost Things. And this story is somehow reminding me with The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus.

The story, the magical details, everything was beautifully written. I love how Erin leaves me hanging with every word in the end of the chapter. This is so a page-turner!Although not the ending I was expected, but love the epilogue! I actually wish for something more jaw-dropping, more mind-blowing, you know. Like, if Baley is actually Alexander’son, Marco is actually Prospero’s another lost son..hahaha Wait I forget this is not Game of Thrones..BUT seriously, i need more dirty-secret-behind-the-circus’-tent to be revealed!

I also love its late 19th century taste. It’s as if you can hear an opera sound as the background of the story.

I’m not a fan of their love story though. It’s kind of cheesy and too much explosion between these two. But yahh, we can’t blame them. I mean, who doesn’t fall in love in a kind of Willy Wonka-ish place like that?
She managed to describe some place full of dreams come true. Some place where you wish to be locked up forever because you just can’t get enough of the magic. I’ve never been to a circus before. Not even a night market. But now visiting one, is on my bucket list.

Actually i really like the eye-catching Indonesian cover. But then I realize, the black color of the original cover represent the circus better.With a little touch of red. Just like a true rêveur.

The translation is okay, although i don’t know how much they change it from the original version. And if you are under 18, i guess it’s better if you read the Indonesian version, cause from what i’ve heard, the original has more mature content.

btw, look what i’ve found in 8tracks! Listen to this!

Okay, peeps now let me take my leave to drown in my puree imagination! Stay fab! XOXO

Tinggalkan Balasan

